Laws, Regulations and Annotations


Business Taxes Law Guide—Revision 2024

Sales and Use Tax Annotations

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    L    M    N    O    P    R    S    T    U    V    W    X   


325.0000 Interstate and Foreign Commerce—Regulation 1620

Annotation 325.0165

(a) In General—Shipments Into California from Points Outside State

325.0165 Time Aircraft Is Refurbished Out of State. A California resident accepted delivery of and took title to an aircraft out of state. The aircraft, carrying a passenger, was flown into California. The aircraft was subsequently delivered to a company in Florida to complete a major refurbishing of the aircraft.

At the time the aircraft was purchased, a jet engine was also purchased. At the time of purchase, the jet engine was located out of state where it underwent maintenance. After the maintenance was completed, the jet engine was shipped to Florida and attached to the aircraft.

Since the aircraft was first functionally used outside California and entered California within 90 days of purchase, the principal use test applies to determine if the aircraft was purchased for use in California. [See note below.] The time the aircraft was being refurbished out of state is considered storage or use outside of California. (Section 6008.) Therefore, if the time for refurbishment added to any other storage and/or use taking place outside of California equals or exceeds one-half of the six-month test period immediately following the aircraft's initial entry into California, use tax will not be due on the purchase price of the aircraft.

With respect to the jet engine, if the time of repairs and attachment was in excess of 90 days from the date of purchase to the date of entry in California, it will be presumed that the jet engine was not purchased for use in California. On the other hand, the time which the engine was shipped to California or stored for shipment is not counted towards prior out-of-state use in excess of 90 days. If the time of actual use outside California (i.e., repairs) exceeded 90 days, excluding the time of shipment and storage for shipment to California, use tax will not be due on the purchase price of the jet engine. 5/15/95. (Am. 2006–1; Am. 2008–1).

(Note.—For the period October 2, 2004 through June 30, 2007, under certain conditions any vehicle, vessel, or aircraft purchased outside of California and brought into the state within 12 months from the date of its purchase is presumed to be acquired for storage, use, or other consumption in California and subject to use tax.) (Regulation 1620(b)(5).)