Laws, Regulations & Annotations
Business Taxes Law Guide – Revision 2021
Sales And Use Tax Law
CHAPTER 1.7. MARKETPLACE FACILITATOR ACT
Article 3. Marketplace Facilitator Relief
6047. Relief conditions. (a) A marketplace facilitator shall be relieved of the tax on retail sales facilitated through its marketplace as provided in subdivision (c) if the marketplace facilitator demonstrates to the satisfaction of the department all of the following:
(1) The retail sales were facilitated for a marketplace seller prior to January 1, 2023, through a marketplace of the marketplace facilitator.
(2) The marketplace facilitator is not the marketplace seller.
(3) The marketplace facilitator and the marketplace seller are not related.
(4) The failure to collect sales and use tax was due to a good faith error other than an error in sourcing the sale pursuant to the Transactions and Use Tax Law (Part 1.6 (commencing with Section 7251)).
(b) To the extent that a marketplace facilitator is relieved of liability for collection of sales and use tax under this section, the marketplace seller for whom the marketplace facilitator has facilitated the retail sale is also relieved of liability, unless the marketplace seller is the retailer for those retail sales pursuant to Section 6046. The department may determine the manner in which a marketplace facilitator or marketplace seller shall claim the liability relief provided in this section.
(c) The liability relief provided under this section shall not exceed the following percentage of the total sales and use tax due on sales facilitated by a marketplace facilitator for marketplace sellers, which sales shall not include sales by the marketplace facilitator or persons related to the marketplace facilitators:
(1) For sales facilitated during the fourth quarter of 2019 or during the 2020 calendar year, 7 percent.
(2) For sales facilitated during the 2021 calendar year, 5 percent.
(3) For sales facilitated during the 2022 calendar year, 3 percent.
(d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to relieve any person of liability for collecting but failing to remit to the department sales and use tax.
History—Added by Stats. 2019, Ch. 5 (AB 147), in effect April 25, 2019, operative October 1, 2019.
Note.—Sec. Section 7, subd. (b) of Stats. 2019, Ch. 5 (AB 147) specifies:
Implementation of Chapter 1.7 (commencing with Section 6040) of Part 1 of Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code and Section 6203.1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, as both proposed to be added by this act, for the 2019–20 fiscal year, is deemed an emergency and necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, and safety, or general welfare and, therefore, the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration is hereby authorized to adopt emergency regulations to implement those provisions during the 2019–20 fiscal year, in accordance with the rulemaking provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act (Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code). Notwithstanding any other law, the emergency regulations adopted by the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration may remain in effect for two years from the date of adoption.