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Helpful Sales Tax Tip —
Nonprofit Veterans’ Organizations

When nonprofit veterans’ organizations
sell "Buddy Poppies” or similar symbolic,
temporary lapel pins, the purchase and
sale of the items are not taxable when
both of the following conditions are met:

® The pins are sold or purchased by
the Veterans of Foreign Wars or
other specified organizations.

® The pins memorialize U.S. military
veterans killed in foreign wars.

The CDTFA recognizes
‘_ that understanding tax
issues related to veterans
can be time-consuming
and complicated. Contact
the CDTFA for assistance in
understanding sales tax law.

Veteran’s Tax Topics N
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The California Department of Tax and Fee
Administration (CDTFA) administers California’s
sales and use, fuel, tobacco, alcohol, and
cannabis taxes, as well as a variety of other
taxes and fees that fund specific state
programs. CDTFA-administered programs
account for over 25 percent of all state
revenue. California’s essential services, such as
public safety, transportation, health, libraries,
schools, social services, and natural resource
management programs, are directly supported
by these taxes and fees.
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Tax programs administered by the CDTFA are
concentrated in two general areas — sales and
use tax and special taxes and fees.

To best serve our taxpayers, the CDTFA

has offices throughout the state along with
offices located in New York, Chicago, and
Houston. While the CDTFA team is spread
out geographically, we are united in working
together to accomplish our mission.
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CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF
TAX AND FEE ADMINISTRATION

California is home to nearly two
million veterans who served

the country with honor and
distinction. Several tax breaks
are available to help those who
served in the U.S. Armed Forces.

Please review the information in
this brochure and online. If you
need further assistance, please
call 1-800-400-7115 (CRS:711).

Itinerant Veteran Vendor

If you are a qualified itinerant veteran vendor, you
are the consumer of items owned and sold, except
alcoholic beverages or items sold for more than
$100, and you are not required to hold a seller’s
permit. Instead, you must pay sales or use tax on
your purchases of all taxable items that you intend
to sell. For more information, see our Tax Guide for
Veterans at www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/veternas.htm.

Nonprofit Veterans' Organization

If you are a nonprofit veterans' organization that
makes sales of merchandise or goods, you are
required to register for a seller’s permit. Generally,
items you sell are taxable.

Sales Made on State-Designated Fairgrounds

If you are a retailer who makes sales of tangible
personal property that take place on real property
of a California state-designated fair, you must
separately state the amount of those sales on your
sales and use tax return. Sales that take place on
state-designated fairgrounds include over-the-
counter sales on the fairgrounds and may include
sales in which the property is shipped or delivered
to or from the fairground. The separately reported
amount will be used for funding allocation
purposes only. There is no additional tax or fee
due on these sales.

Vehicle Allowance from the U.S. Department of
Veterans Affairs Not Subject to Sales or Use Tax

Veterans with a service-connected disability may
be eligible to receive financial assistance from the
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) towards
the purchase of a vehicle. Eligible veterans must
have VA approval prior to making the purchase.
The VA will pay the approved amount directly to
the seller and the approved veteran is responsible
for paying any remaining cost of the vehicle to the
seller. The portion of the vehicle's purchase prices
paid by the VA is considered a sale to the U.S.
Government and not subject to sales or use tax.

NEED FURTHER ASSISTANCE?

If you have additional questions
regarding sales and use tax
exemptions, please call our

Customer Service Center at
1-800-400-7115 (CRS:711). Customer
service representatives are available
Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m.
to 5:00 p.m. (Pacific time), except state
holidays.

For more information, see the CDTFA Tax
Guide for Veterans at
www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/veterans.htm
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