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NOTICE TO INTERNATIONAL FUEL TAX
AGREEMENT (IFTA) CARRIERS

You must be in possession of valid IFTA credentials (license and decals) or a
properly completed California Fuel Trip Permit when entering or re-entering
California. Failure to comply may result in the assessment of a penalty. The
penalty may be calculated in one of two ways. First, if the California Department
of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) determines an amount of tax due, the tax
plus the greater of 25 percent of the tax, or $500, will be imposed. Secondly, where
the CDTFA does not determine an amount of tax due, the penalty is $100. For each
subsequent violation, $100 will be added to the amount of the previous penalty
until a maximum penalty of $500 is reached. The penalty is in addition to the
purchase of a California Fuel Trip Permit, which costs $30.

IFTA credentials are valid until December 31 of the year they were issued, unless
the credentials have been revoked, canceled, or suspended by the carrier’s base
jurisdiction. For carriers in good standing with their base jurisdiction (all reports
are filed, all amounts due are paid, and a timely renewal is filed and paid), a two-
month grace period is granted to display the current year decals. For example,
carriers in good standing have until the end of February to display the current year
decals. Carriers entering California on March 1 without displaying the current
decals (or being in possession of a properly completed California Fuel Trip Permit)
will be assessed the penalties as described above.

We encourage all carriers to keep their accounts in good standing, to renew their
IFTA licenses timely, and to display the current year decals by the end of February.
Many IFTA jurisdictions, including California, increase IFTA enforcement
beginning March 1 of each year. Don’t wait. Make sure you have the proper
credentials for your vehicles.

If you have any questions, please contact the Motor Carrier Office at
1-800-400-7115 (CRS:711); from the main menu, select the option “Special Taxes
and Fees” and the “IFTA, International Fuel Tax Agreement.” Customer service
representatives are available weekdays from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Pacific time),
except state holidays.

Motor Carrier Office
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don’t have the current year credentials
it’s at least a $100.00 penalty and a
$30.00 Fuel Trip Permit.

CARRIERS—DON"T MAKE THIS
MISTAKE IN MARCH 2019

MAKE SURE YOU HAVE YOUR
2019 IFTA LICENSE AND DECALS.

READ THE FRONT SIDE OF THIS NOTICE FOR MORE INFORMATION.
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