



How to Inspect and Correct Your Records



Introduction

The following information is provided to assist individuals who wish to gain access to, or correct personal information about themselves in records maintained by the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA). These rights are provided in the Information Practices Act of Civil Code section 1798 et. seq.

Special Requirements and Exceptions

You may inspect personal information about yourself if it is feasible to retrieve the record by individual name or other method of identification assigned to the individual.

Individuals are not authorized by law to inspect certain kinds of information, including, but not limited to:

- Information maintained for criminal law enforcement.
- Information maintained for the purpose of investigating specific violations of state law, until after the investigation and remedial action, if any, are completed.
- Information that would compromise the objectivity or fairness of a test or examination.
- Medical, psychiatric, or psychological information, if the person responsible for holding the record determines that disclosure would be medically or psychologically detrimental to the individual.
- Any information required by statute to be withheld from the individual to whom it pertains.
- Personal information about other individuals.
- The names of sources of personal information, when confidentiality is authorized or required.

Requests to Inspect Records

You may review many of your records by logging onto CDTFA's Online Services.

You may also inquire whether the Department maintains a record containing personal information about you. Address your inquiry to the official responsible for maintaining the record system.

Your inquiry should provide as much information as possible to assist us in identifying the records, such as your name, CDTFA account number, or relevant departmental program.

If you need assistance in identifying and locating records, or determining the official responsible for maintaining your records, address your inquiry to:

Email

Disclosure.Office@cdtfa.ca.gov

Mail

California Department of Tax and Fee Administration Disclosure Office, MIC:82 PO Box 942879 Sacramento, CA 94279-0082

Fax

1-916-324-5995

Inspection of Records

If it is determined that you are legally entitled to inspect your records, you will be granted access without undue delay and no later than 30 days after receipt of a request for active records, or 60 days if the records are in storage, or geographically dispersed.

You must give satisfactory proof of identity before the records are presented to you for inspection (that is, copy of your driver license, identification card, etc.).

When you inspect your records, you may request a copy of all or any portion of the personal information in the records. The charge for copies is ten cents (\$0.10) per page unless a different rate has been established by law. For copies of records in other forms, fees will be charged sufficient to cover the costs of making copies.

Refusal of a Request to Inspect a Record

If your request to inspect a record is refused because disclosure of the contents to the records is not authorized by law, you can request a review of such a determination. Send your request for review, with a copy of the letter stating the reason(s) for the refusal, to the Disclosure Officer. You will be notified as to the results of the review within 30 days after receipt of the request.

Request for Amendment of a Record

If you believe any personal information in your records which could affect your status or rights is not accurate, relevant, timely, or complete, you are entitled to submit a request in writing for amendment or correction of the records.

Address your request to the official responsible for maintaining the records, and include the following information:

- Type of records that contains the information.
- Name of the individual that is the subject of the records.
- Details about the requested amendment or correction.
- Reasons why the records should be amended or corrected.

A CDTFA team member will notify you, within 30 days after receipt of the request, that amendments or corrections have been made as requested, or that all or part of the request has been rejected. Reasons for refusing to amend or correct the records will be given.

Agency Review

If you disagree with the refusal to amend any part of your records, you are entitled to request an department review. Submit your request for a review in writing to the Disclosure Officer at the address shown under the "Requests to Inspect Records" section. Include the following information:

- Copy of the original request for amendment or correction of your records;
- Copy of the notification of denial of your request, with the Department official's reasons for refusing to amend your records; and
- Your reasons for disagreeing with the refusal, and any additional information that supports your request.

Filing a Statement of Disagreement

If the department review concludes that all or part of your request for amendment or correction should not be granted, the notification will include a statement of reasons for the refusal. You are entitled to file a statement of disagreement if you do not agree with the department review decision. Your statement should be of reasonable length (usually one to three pages), specifying the corrections requested and the reasons why each correction should be made. Send your statement of disagreement to the official responsible for maintaining the records.

Your statement of disagreement, together with the CDTFA's statement of reasons for refusing to amend the records, will be made a part of your records and copies will be made available to persons or agencies to whom the disputed information is disclosed.

4

For More Information

Visit us at *www.cdtfa.ca.gov*.

Customer Service Center

Customer service representatives are available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Pacific time), except state holidays. In addition to English, assistance is available in other languages.

1-800-400-7115 (CRS:711) (calls made in California)

1-916-324-2926 (CRS:711) (calls from out-of-state)

PUBLICATION 58-A | May 2020

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF TAX AND FEE ADMINISTRATION MAILING ADDRESS: P.O. BOX 942879 • SACRAMENTO, CA 94279-0001