California Department of Tax and Fee Administration

CANNABIS

SPECIAL NOTICE

New Cannabis Excise Tax Rate Effective July 1, 2025

Effective July 1, 2025, the cannabis excise tax rate will increase from 15 percent to 19 percent of gross receipts
from retail sales of cannabis or cannabis products.

Why is the tax rate changing?

The California Department of Tax and Fee Administration, in consultation with the Department of Finance, is
required by law to adjust the cannabis excise tax rate for the 2025-26 fiscal year and every two years thereafter.
The rate change reflects an additional percentage equivalent to the amount of cultivation tax that would have been
collected if the cultivation tax had not ended.! For more information on the computation for the rate change, please
see our Tax Guide for Cannabis Businesses at https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/cannabis/retailers.htm#cannabis-
excise-tax-rate-adjustment.

How does the tax apply?

Cannabis retailers are responsible for collecting the cannabis excise tax from their customers who purchase
cannabis or cannabis products based on the gross receipts from the retail sale. Gross receipts generally include
any amount the purchaser is required to pay to purchase the cannabis or cannabis products. For more information
on what is included in gross receipts, please see Gross Receipts Subject to Tax section at
https://cdtfa.ca.gov/indu/cannabis/retailers.htm#RetailGrossReceipts in our Tax Guide for Cannabis Businesses
under the Retailers page at https://cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/cannabis/retailers.htm.

When is the tax due?

The 19 percent cannabis excise tax rate applies to all cannabis and cannabis product purchases made by
consumers on and after July 1, 2025. Cannabis retailers are responsible for reporting their sales to us on their online
cannabis excise tax return. For monthly filers, the new rate applies starting with the July 2025 returns. For quarterly
filers, the new rate applies starting with the third-quarter 2025 returns (covering July 1, 2025 — September 30, 2025).
For current and prior cannabis tax rates, please see our Tax Rates—Special Taxes and Fees page at
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/special-taxes-and-fees-tax-rates/#cannabis.

Potential legislation that may impact the tax rate

We are aware of proposals to change our requirement to adjust the cannabis excise tax rate. If there are any
changes that will affect the tax rate, you will receive another notification from us.

For more information

We encourage you to read our online guide for cannabis at Tax Guide for Cannabis Businesses at
https://cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/cannabis/. You may also call our Customer Service Center at 1-800-400-7115 (TTY:711),
and select the option for Special Taxes and Fees. Customer service representatives are available Monday through
Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Pacific time), except state holidays.
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