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NEW LEGISLATION

Senate Bill (SB) 388 (Stats. 2023, ch. 214) Beginning  
January 1, 2024, requires that any information contained in beer 
manufacturer returns and supplemental schedules, except the 
name and address of a natural person, must be made public 
upon request. A taxpayer may elect to prohibit the disclosure of 
any information contained in their beer manufacturer return and 
schedules.

SB 797 (Stats. 2023, ch. 506) Beginning January 1, 2024, 
establishes the Lithium Extraction Tax Citizens Oversight 
Committee within CDTFA to ensure certain lithium extraction 
excise tax revenues are appropriately allocated and to make 
recommendations to improve community engagement and 
maximize community benefits.

SB 889 (Stats. 2023, ch. 511) Beginning January 1, 2024, makes 
various technical and noncontroversial changes to tax and fee 
provisions administered by CDTFA. The bill authorizes CDTFA 
to serve an Earnings Withholding Order for Taxes and related 
documents electronically; adds specific collection authority 
to the Fee Collection Procedures Law to hold a predecessor 
or successor liable for specified fees upon the transfer of a 
business; makes technical changes to the Cannabis Tax Law, 
Emergency Telephone Users Surcharge Act, and Hazardous 
Substances Tax Law; and adjusts the approval limits for small 
settlement cases from $5,000 to $11,500.

The following is a summary of law changes enacted during the 
2023 California legislative session that affect several CDTFA 
special tax and fee programs. The changes described in this 
article are effective as noted.

Assembly Bill (AB) 28 (Stats. 2023, ch. 231) Beginning  
July 1, 2024, imposes an excise tax upon licensed firearm 
dealers, firearm manufacturers, and ammunition vendors at 
a rate of 11 percent of gross receipts from the retail sale in 
California of any firearm, firearm precursor part, or ammunition.

AB 935 (Stats. 2023, ch. 351) Beginning January 1, 2024, 
requires CDTFA to suspend or revoke a California cigarette and 
tobacco products retailer license on the licensee’s third, fourth, 
and fifth violations of the flavored tobacco product ban along 
with assessing a $250 fine for each violation.

AB 1115 (Stats. 2023, ch. 561) Extends the sunset of certain 
provisions of the Barry Keene Underground Storage Tank 
Cleanup Trust Fund Act of 1989, including collection of the 
Underground Storage Tank Maintenance Fee at the rate of 
$0.020 per gallon, to January 1, 2036.

AB 1526 (Stats. 2023, ch. 848) Beginning January 1, 2024, 
makes various changes to the Public Resources Code, including 
changes to the Plastic Pollution Revenue and Packaging 
Producer Responsibility Act and authorizes CalRecycle to share 
information with CDTFA as necessary to administer and enforce 
the covered battery-embedded waste recycling fee.

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240SB388
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240SB797
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240SB889
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240AB28
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240AB935
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240AB1115
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240AB1526
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ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE TAXES

Disclosure of information contained 
in the beer manufacturer return and 
supplemental schedule
Beginning January 1, 2024, any information—except the name 
and address of a natural person (such as a sole proprietor 
or partnership)—contained in beer manufacturer returns and 
supplemental schedules filed on or after January 1, 2024, 
must be made public upon request.1 We will update the beer 
manufacturer online return beginning with the January 2024 
filing period. Updates will include: 

• Additional and historical information about this change, and

•  An option to allow you to elect to prohibit disclosing your
return information.

You will be able to find additional information in our 
Tax Guide for Alcoholic Beverage.

Reminder—Closing your alcoholic 
beverage tax accounts
You are generally required to have an alcoholic beverage tax 
account if you are required to have certain licenses issued 
by the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
(ABC).2 We are unable to process any requests to close out your 
alcoholic beverage tax account with us if you still have a valid 
license with ABC. Please make sure to cancel or surrender your 
license with ABC prior to requesting we close your alcoholic 
beverage tax account.

For more information on cancelling or surrendering your ABC 
license, please visit the Surrender License page on ABC’s 
website. For more information regarding your alcoholic 
beverage tax account, please visit our Tax Guide for Alcoholic 
Beverage.

1 SB 388 (Stats. 2023, ch. 214)
2 Revenue & Taxation Code (R&TC) section 32101

https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/alcoholic-beverage-tax.htm#overview
https://www.abc.ca.gov/
https://www.abc.ca.gov/licensing/license-forms/surrender-license/
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/alcoholic-beverage-tax.htm
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240SB388
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=32101.
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CANNABIS TAXES

District tax on retail sales and deliveries of 
cannabis or cannabis products
Generally, your retail sales of cannabis or cannabis products 
made over the counter at your cannabis business are subject 
to any district sales taxes imposed in the district where the 
cannabis business is located. If you also deliver cannabis or 
cannabis products to your retail customers using your own 
vehicle, you are generally required to collect, report, and pay 
any district tax in the district where you make the delivery. You 
are responsible for reporting and paying the district tax at the 
rate in effect in that district.

For more information, please see our publication 44,  
District Taxes (Sales and Use Taxes) and our  
Tax Guide for Cannabis Businesses under the Tax Facts tab.1

New receipt requirements for cannabis 
retailers
Effective January 1, 2023, when making a retail sale of cannabis 
or cannabis products, cannabis retailers are required to provide 
their customers with an invoice, receipt, or other document that 
separately states the cannabis excise tax due.2

For more information, please see our  
Tax Guide for Cannabis Businesses under the Tax Facts tab.

Cannabis excise tax—Gross receipts
Your retail sales of cannabis or cannabis products are subject 
to the cannabis excise tax. The cannabis excise tax is currently 
15 percent of the gross receipts of any retail sale of cannabis or 
cannabis products. Some points to note about the definition of 
gross receipts3 are:

• Gross receipts include all amounts received with respect to 
the sale, with no deduction for the cost of the materials used, 
labor or service cost, or any other expense of the retailer 
passed on to the customer, such as local cannabis business 
taxes imposed on retailers, unless there is a specific 
statutory exclusion.

• Gross receipts generally include delivery fees.

• Gross receipts subject to the cannabis excise tax do not 
include sales tax.  

• Gross receipts subject to sales tax include the cannabis 
excise tax.

On December 15, 2023, cannabis excise tax emergency 
Regulation 3802 was adopted, which provides additional 
guidance on gross receipts from sales of cannabis and 
cannabis products. For the full text of this regulation, please see  
Regulation 3802 located on our website.

For more information, please see our  
Tax Guide for Cannabis Businesses under the Retailers tab.

1  R&TC sections 6012, 6051, 7261, and 6011; Sales and Use Tax Regulations 
1823, 1827, and 1628.

2 R&TC section 34011.2(d)

3 R&TC section 6012

http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub44.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/cannabis.htm#Overview
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/cannabis.htm#Facts
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/cannabis.htm
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/cannabis.htm#Facts
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/Reg3802EmergencyText.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/cannabis.htm
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/cannabis.htm#Retailers
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol1/sutl/6012.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol1/sutl/6051.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol1/tutl/7261.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol1/sutl/6011.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol1/tutr/1823.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol1/tutr/1827.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol1/sutr/1628.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol3/ctl/ctl-34011-2.html
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CIGARETTE AND TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAXES

New tax rate for other tobacco products 
effective July 1, 2023, through  
June 30, 2024
The new tax rate for other tobacco products (products other 
than cigarettes) is 56.32 percent of the wholesale cost, effective 
July 1, 2023, through June 30, 2024. The tax rate is subject 
to change annually.1 For more information, please see special 
notice L-899, New Tax Rate on Other Tobacco Products 
Effective July 1, 2023, through June 30, 2024. Current and 
historical tobacco products tax rates are posted on the Tax 
Rates—Special Taxes and Fees webpage, under the  
Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax heading.

What to know about a cigarette and 
tobacco products inspection
Do you sell cigarette and tobacco products? Do you know what 
to expect during a routine inspection? To help you get prepared 
and know what to expect during the process, watch the What 
to Know About a Cigarette and Tobacco Products Inspection 
video.

We conduct routine inspections2 to ensure businesses are 
complying with California's laws on the sales of cigarettes and 
tobacco products, and to ensure all appropriate excise taxes 
are documented and paid. These inspections help and protect 
consumers by ensuring that only legal and safe products 
are sold. The video provides helpful information on how to 
have a quick and successful cigarette and tobacco products 
inspection. Learn more about other common industry topics in 
our Tax Guide for Cigarettes and Tobacco Products.

1 R&TC sections 30123(b), 30126, 30131.2(b), and 30131.5 
2 Business and Professions Code section 22980

http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/L899.pdf
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/tax-rates-stfd.htm#cigarettetax
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2k6Dgtdxo8Q
https://cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/cigarette-and-tobacco-products.htm
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol3/ctptl/ctptl-30123.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol3/ctptl/ctptl-30126.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol3/ctptl/ctptl-30131-2.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol3/ctptl/ctptl-30131-5.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol3/ctplal/ctplal-22980.html
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DIESEL AND MOTOR VEHICLE FUEL TAXES

Sales and Use Tax Rate for Diesel Fuel Changed October 1, 2023
Current sales and use tax rates are posted on the Sales and Use Tax Rates webpage, and current diesel fuel tax rates are posted on 
the Special Taxes and Fees webpage, under the Diesel Fuel Tax heading.

The sales and use tax rate for diesel fuel increased from 9.0625 percent to 13.00 percent. The temporary, partial sales and use tax 
exemption (3.9375 percent) on the sale, storage, use, or other consumption of diesel fuel expired on September 30, 2023.1 The new 
rate is as follows:

Sales and Use Tax Rates

Type of 
Fuel

Prepayment Per Gallon Sales and Use Tax Rate*

July 1, 2023, through 
September 30, 2023

October 1, 2023, through 
June 30, 2024

Prior to 
September 30, 2023

October 1, 2023, through  
June 30, 2024

Diesel 
fuel

34.5 cents ($0.345) 50 cents ($0.500) 9.0625% 13.00%

* You must add district taxes where applicable. District taxes continue to apply to sales and purchases of diesel fuel and are not included in the AB 194 partial sales and use 
tax exemption. District tax rates for your area are available on our Sales and Use Tax Rates webpage, under the District Taxes, Rates, and Effective Dates option.

The following rates, effective July 1, 2023, through June 30, 2024, remain unchanged:

Excise Tax Rates Per Gallon

Type of Fuel Effective July 1, 2023

Gasoline (motor vehicle fuel) 57.9 cents ($0.579)

Aircraft jet fuel* 2 cents ($0.02)

Diesel fuel 44.1 cents ($0.441)

Aviation gasoline* 18 cents ($0.18)

* Excise taxes on aircraft jet fuel and aviation gasoline are not subject to an annual adjustment.

New Fuel Tax and Fee Guides 
Please see our new online Fuel Tax and Fee Guides which encompass all our programs related to the fuel industry. Our guides 
will help you find all the relative and general information you need in one place to better understand your tax, fee, and licensing 
obligations with us.

1 AB 194 (Stats. 2022, ch. 55)

https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/sales-use-tax-rates.htm
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/tax-rates-stfd.htm
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/sales-use-tax-rates.htm
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/cdtfa105.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/fuel-tax-and-fee-guides/
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202120220AB194
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EMERGENCY TELEPHONE USERS SURCHARGE

911 and 988 surcharge rates
The 911 and 988 surcharge rates will remain at 30 cents ($0.30) and 8 cents ($0.08), respectively, for the calendar year 2024,1 
according to the California Governor’s Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES).

Please see special notice L-919, 2024 Emergency Telephone Users Surcharge Rates (911 and 988 Surcharges), for additional 
information.

For the current and prior 911 and 988 surcharge rates, see our Special Taxes and Fees Rates webpage under Emergency Telephone 
Users Surcharge—911 Surcharge and 988 Surcharge.

1 R&TC section  41030

FIREARM AND AMMUNITION EXCISE TAX

New excise tax for firearms dealers, ammunition vendors, and manufacturers of 
firearms, firearm precursor parts, or ammunition
Beginning July 1, 2024, licensed firearms dealers, ammunition vendors, and manufacturers will be required to register for a Firearm 
and Ammunition Excise Tax (FET) Certificate of Registration with us and pay an excise tax of 11% of the gross receipts from the 
retail sale(s) (such as sales to consumers) of a firearm, firearm precursor part, or ammunition in California.1

If you plan to have any retail sales of firearms, firearm precursor parts, or ammunition in California in 2024 and going forward, you 
can register with us through our online services beginning in mid-June 2024 or please contact our Customer Service Center at 
1-800-400-7115 (CRS:711), then select the option for Special Taxes and Fees. We will help you register for your FET Certificate of 
Registration. 

For more information, please visit our Tax Guide for Sellers of Firearm and Ammunition Products, which is in process and should be 
available in January 2024. This guide will be updated as more information becomes available.

1 AB 28 (Stats. 2023, ch. 231)

https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/L919.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/tax-rates-stfd.htm
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol4/etusl/etusl-41030.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/firearm-and-ammunition-excise-tax/
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240AB28
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HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCES TAXES/FEES

New reporting requirements for 
transportable treatment units 
Beginning July 1, 2023, the owner or operator of a transportable 
treatment unit (TTU) is required to file an annual return and pay 
the facility fee imposed on TTUs in two equal installments, on 
or before November 30 and February 28 of each fiscal year.1 A 
TTU is mobile equipment that performs treatment of hazardous 
waste, is transported onto a facility to perform treatment, and is 
not permanently stationed at a single facility.2

If you are an owner or operator of a TTU, below are your new 
reporting and payment requirements starting with fiscal year 
2023–2024:

• Your prepayment due date is November 30 of each fiscal 
year. The payment must be 50 percent of the fee due for the 
current fiscal year.

• Your final payment and return are due by February 28 of 
each fiscal year. The payment is the remaining 50 percent of 
the fee due for the current fiscal year. 

Please see special notice L-910, Hazardous Waste 
Transportable Treatment Unit New Reporting Requirements, for 
specific information about the changes.

Hazardous waste fees—Online filing 
required and due date reminders
Online filing is required for all hazardous waste fee program 
returns, including the environmental fee return, the hazardous 
waste facility fee return, and the hazardous waste generation 
and handling fee return.3 Prepayments are also required to be 
filed using our online services system. 

Log in to our online services system with a username and 
password to file your return. For assistance with creating a 
username and password and filing online, please view our  
Video Tutorials, or call our Customer Service Center at  
1-800-400-7115 (CRS:711). Customer service representatives 
are available Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 
(Pacific time), except state holidays.

Prepayment, final payment, and return due dates are as follows: 
Environmental fee—Fiscal year 2023–24 filing period

• If you have 100 or more employees, you must report based 
on the number of employees employed more than 500 hours 
in California during the 2023 calendar year.

• Return and final payment—Due February 29, 2024

Please note: The employee threshold for the environmental fee 
changed from 50 or more employees to 100 or more employees 
starting January 1, 2022. 

Facility fee (now includes TTU facility permit types)—Fiscal 
year 2023–24 filing period

• Prepayment—Due November 30, 2023

• Return and final payment—Due February 28, 2024

Generation and handling fee—Fiscal year 2023-24 filing 
period

You will report the fee based on the hazardous waste tons you 
generated in calendar year 2022. 

• Prepayment—Due November 30, 2023

• Return and final payment—Due February 28, 2024

Return updates are coming soon; watch for our special notice in 
January 2024.

For more information, please see the reminder notices below:

• L-920, The Hazardous Waste Fee Rates Will Remain the 
Same for Returns Due in February 2024

• L-889, Prepayment Requirement Reminder for Hazardous 
Waste  

• L-863, Hazardous Waste Generation and Handling Fee 
Program Reminders and Online Filing Requirement 

• L-862, Hazardous Waste Facility Fee Prepayment, Return, 
and Program Update Reminders

We also invite you to visit our Hazardous Substances (Waste) 
Fee Guide.

1 R&TC section 43152.6
2 Health and Safety Code section 25123.4
3 R&TC sections 43152.9, 43152.6, and 43152.7

https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/L910.pdf
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/services/#Tutorials
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/L833.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/L920.pdf
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/L889.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/L863.pdf
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/L862.pdf
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/haz-sub-fee.htm
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol4/hstl/hstl-43152-6.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol4/hwf/hwf-25123-4.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol4/hstl/hstl-43152-9.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol4/hstl/hstl-43152-6.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol4/hstl/hstl-43152-7.html
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LITHIUM EXTRACTION EXCISE TAX

New program for lithium producers began January 1, 2023
Beginning January 1, 2023, any person (producer) extracting lithium from geothermal fluid, spodumene ore, rock, minerals, clay, or 
any other naturally occurring substance must pay a lithium extraction excise tax.1 The new tax is based upon the lifetime cumulative 
metric tons of lithium carbonate equivalent extracted in California, and each producer must register for a Lithium Excise Tax (LET) 
Permit with us.2 

If you extracted any amount of lithium carbonate equivalent in California after January 1, 2023, you must register with us for your LET 
permit using our online services. If you do not have a username and password, select the Sign Up Now link from the online services 
homepage. 

If you registered for an LET permit in 2023, your first return is due by January 31, 2024. You will be able to file your return using our 
online services. If you need any assistance, please call our Customer Service Center at 1-800-400-7115 (CRS:711), then select the 
option for Special Taxes and Fees.

For more information, please visit our Lithium Extraction Excise Tax Guide. This guide will be updated as more information becomes 
available.

1 SB 125 (Stats. 2022, ch. 63)
2 R&TC sections 47010 and 47090

https://onlineservices.cdtfa.ca.gov/_/
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/lithium-extraction-excise-tax.htm
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=202120220SB125
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=47010.
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=47090.
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GENERAL INTEREST

New and revised publications involving special taxes and fees January 1, 2023, to 
December 31, 2023

Publication Name Publication Number Revision Date

Audits 76 06/23

Environmental Fee 90 06/23

Alcoholic Beverage Tax 92 03/23

California Tire Fee 91 03/23

California Tire Fee (Spanish) 91-S 03/23

Cigarette Distributor Licensing and Tax Stamp Guide 63 03/23

Emergency Telephone Users Surcharge Program—911 and 988 Surcharges 39A 03/23

Tax Help for the Cannabis Industry 557 01/23

Cannabis Inspection Program 552 01/23

Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee 94 01/23

OIL SPILL PREVENTION AND ADMINISTRATION FEE

Rate increase for Oil Spill Prevention and Administration Fee
Effective July 1, 2023, and every July 1 thereafter, the Department of Fish and Wildlife is required to adjust the Oil Spill Prevention 
and Administration (OSPA) Fee based on changes in the California Consumer Price Index (CCPI).1 Effective July 1, 2023, through 
June 30, 2024, the OSPA Fee rate increased from eight and one-half cents ($0.085) per barrel to nine and one-tenth cents ($0.091) 
per barrel of crude oil, petroleum products, or renewable fuel.  

For more information, please see special notice L-901, Oil Spill Prevention and Administration Fee—Rate Increase Effective  
July 1, 2023. Current and historical OSPA Fee rates are posted on the Tax Rates—Special Taxes and Fees webpage, under the  
Oil Spill Response, Prevention, and Administration Fees section.

1  Government Code section 8670.40

https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub76.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub90.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub92.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub91.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub91-s.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub63.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub39a.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub557.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub552.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub94.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/L901.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/tax-rates-stfd.htm
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=8670.40.&lawCode=GOV
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In the event of failure or refusal to make such refunds, we will make a determination against you for the amount of the excess tax 
reimbursement collected and not previously paid to the state, plus applicable interest and penalty.

Know your rights
As a taxpayer, you have many rights under the law, including the right to: 

• Information and assistance to help you comply with the law 

• Fair and courteous treatment and prompt service 

• Confidentiality 

• Appeal a determination or claim a refund as allowed by law

Along with those rights, you have responsibilities to: 

• Stay informed about tax laws and regulations that affect your business 

• Report and pay taxes and fees when due 

• Promptly respond to our attempts to contact you 

• Inform us of changes to your business ownership or address 

• Maintain adequate records 

For more information, please visit our Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate webpage. Our Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Office can be reached 
toll-free at 1-888-324-2798.

Privacy notice
Every year we are required to notify all active account holders of their privacy rights. Please review our Privacy Notice for information 
regarding your privacy rights, or go to our All Forms webpage and search for CDTFA-324-GEN-WEB, Privacy Notice—Website—No 
Action Needed. To review your account records, submit your request to your closest CDTFA office or direct your request to the 
Disclosure Office at Disclosure.Office@cdtfa.ca.gov. If you have additional questions, please contact our Customer Service Center 
at 1-800-400-7115 (CRS:711). Customer service representatives are available Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 
(Pacific time), except state holidays.

Keep your information current
Is your account information up to date? Has your business model changed? We need to have the most current information about 
your business to ensure you receive updates, notices, and due date reminders. Log in to online services to update your account 
whenever you change your business or mailing address; add or close a business location; change your entity type, business, or legal 
entity name; add or remove owners, officers, members, or partners; or change your banking information. If you need help, contact 
our Customer Service Center at 1-800-400-7115 (CRS:711). Customer service representatives are available to assist you Monday 
through Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Pacific time), except state holidays.

Refunds of excess tax or fee reimbursement
Excess Tax Reimbursement Defined 
When an amount represented by a person to a customer as constituting reimbursement for taxes or fees is computed on an amount 
that is not taxable or exceeds the taxable amount and is actually paid by the customer to the person, that amount is excess tax 
reimbursement. Excess tax reimbursement is collected when: 

• Reimbursement is computed on a trasaction which is not subject to tax

• Reimbursement is computed on an amount in excess of the amount subject to tax

• Reimbursement is computed using a tax rate higher than the rate imposed by law

Whenever you have collected excess tax reimbursement, you will have to refund the excess collections to the customers from whom 
they were collected; otherwise, any excess tax or fee reimbursement must be paid to the state.

You should retain evidence of the refund to each customer by records which can be verified by audit, such as:

• Receipts or cancelled checks.

• Books of account showing that credit has been granted to the customer as an offset against an existing indebtedness owed by 
the customer to the person.

http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/TRA
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/cdtfa324gen-web.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/forms.htm
mailto:Disclosure.Office%40cdtfa.ca.gov?subject=
https://onlineservices.cdtfa.ca.gov/_/
https://cdtfa.ca.gov/contact.htm
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California Department of Tax and Fee Administration, MIC:88 
PO Box 942879 

Sacramento, CA 94279-0088

EMAIL
www.cdtfa.ca.gov/email

CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER 
1-800-400-7115 (CRS:711)

Customer service representatives are available to assist you Monday through Friday 
from 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Pacific time), except state holidays.

TAX EVASION HOTLINE
1-888-334-3300

LEGISLATION
www.leginfo.legislature.ca.gov

TAXPAYERS’ RIGHTS ADVOCATE
www.cdtfa.ca.gov/tra 

1-888-324-2798

CONTACT AND WEBSITE
Visit www.cdtfa.ca.gov for information, regulations,  

forms and publications, translated publications, and more.

ONLINE SERVICES
Find out how flexible online filing can be. 

We offer several options to make it easier for you to file your returns and pay 
your taxes or fees online. You can find them at www.cdtfa.ca.gov.  

Select File a Return & Pay Taxes.
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