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New Limited Tax Exclusion for Pawnbrokers 

Efective June 27, 2017, certain transfers by pawnbrokers may no longer be subject to 
tax. Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) section 6010.15 now provides that when a 
pawnbroker transfers property back to the person that had pledged the property to the 
pawnbroker as security for a loan, it is no longer taxable under certain conditions. 

New Law 
Starting June 27, 2017, through December 31, 2021, tax does not apply to transactions 
in which a borrower buys back their pledged property from a pawnbroker if all of the 
following conditions are met: 

• Te buyback occurs within six (6) months of the borrower defaulting on the loan 
(the date title to the property vests with the pawnbroker). 

• Te borrower pays the remaining unpaid loan balance, including any charges and 
interest, as of the date the borrower defaults, together with one of the following: 

º For loans of less than $2,500: the borrower must pay the allowable charges and 
interest from the date of default to the date the borrower buys back the pledged 
property. 

º For loans of $2,500 or more: the borrower must pay charges and interest due 
based on the last monthly contractual interest rate from the date of default to 
the date the borrower buys back the pledged property. 

• Te borrower has proof, such as a receipt or similar document, that they originally 
paid sales tax on the item. 

For more information on charges and interest allowed by pawnbrokers, please refer to 
Chapter 2 (Pawnbroker Regulations) of Division 8 of the California Financial Code. 

Registration 
If you are a pawnbroker and do not already hold a seller’s permit, you are required to 
register with the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) to 
report and pay sales tax on your merchandise sales sold at retail or on consignment. 
To register, please visit our website at www.cdtfa.ca.gov and select Register. 

CDTFA Regulatory Process 
Te CDTFA may revise Regulation 1569, Consignees and Lienors of Tangible Personal 
Property for Sale, to implement the changes provided in R&TC section 6010.15. If you 
would like to receive notices of interested parties meetings and other materials for this 
issue, please email your request to: BTFD-BTC.InformationRequests@cdtfa.ca.gov. 

For More Information 
If you have additional questions regarding this notice, you may call our Customer 
Service Center at 1-800-400-7115 (TTY:711). Customer service representatives are 
available weekdays from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Pacifc time), except state holidays. 
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