
Is the California Department of Tax and 
Fee Administration (CDTFA) required to 

 provide records to the public? 
Yes. The Public Records Act (starting with 
 Government Code section 6250) governs  public 
 records. It requires us to make certain records 
 available to everyone. The Information Practices 
Act (starting with Civil Code section 1798) governs 
 individual taxpayers’ rights to see their own records.

How can I obtain public records?
First, you may want to check our website,  

www.cdtfa.ca.gov. You may find the information you 

need there.

You may also contact us to view or obtain  copies 

of public records. You will need to file a request, 

 generally in writing, that contains a specific 

 description of those records. If your request isn’t 

clear, our Disclosure Office staff will help you make it 

more focused and effective.

What happens after I make the request?
Within 10 days of the date we get your request, we 

will let you know whether we can legally share the 

records you need. We will also provide the records or 

estimate when we can have them ready for you. If the 

law prohibits us from disclosing certain records, we 

will send you a letter explaining why. Some records 

are available immediately (see next section).

Can I get financial disclosure filings or 
 taxpayer information? 
Financial disclosure filings. The Statements of   
Economic Interests (California Form 700) for CDTFA 

staff is available upon request at our Sacramento 

Headquarters office (450 N St.). 
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Taxpayer records. Most individual taxpayers’ records are  exempt 

from public disclosure. However, taxpayers or their  representatives 

may get free copies upon request. 

Is there any cost for records?
We generally charge 10 cents a page for copies. However, if you 

request less than $10 worth of copies in a three-month period, we 

can waive the charge.

Where do I send my request?
Mail or fax your Public Records Act request to:

Disclosure Office, MIC:82 

California Department of Tax and Fee Administration 

PO Box 942879 

Sacramento, CA 94279-0082 

Fax: 1-916-324-5995

For copies of your own records, send a written request to the  office 

that handles your account or to the Disclosure Office.

How do I get more information?
If you need more information about obtaining records from us, please 

contact our Disclosure Office at 1-916-445-2918. You may also wish 

to obtain a copy of our publication 58A, How to Inspect and Correct 

Your Records.

Resources and assistance
Website: www.cdtfa.ca.gov

Customer Service Center: 1-800-400-7115 (CRS:711)

Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate: 1-888-324-2798 
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