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STATE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 
 

May 30, 1997 
 
Dear  
 

This responds to your facsimile transmittal dated March 26, 1997 to Supervising 
Tax Counsel David H. Levine regarding the purchase of a yacht by your client --- You 
ask whether the transaction qualifies as exempt from California sales or use tax pursuant 
to Regulation l620(b)(3).  
 

You describe the following factual situation. --- is purchasing a new vessel for 
approximately $600,000 from the California manufacturer and seller (seller), --- Inc. --- 
has paid progress installments to the seller for work completed on the vessel. Under the 
terms of the contract of sale, --- will make final payment for the vessel after final 
inspection and delivery of the vessel at a point more than three nautical miles from 
California.  
 

--- will take a separate transport vessel to meet the vessel for final inspection and 
approval. Seller will retain possession and control until the final inspection and approval 
by ---. After final inspection and approval, --- will give the final payment to the seller and 
the seller will give --- a bill of sale. Our understanding is that title will pass at that time.  
 

After --- obtains possession and control of the vessel at a point more than three 
nautical miles from the California coast, --- will pleasure sail the vessel for the day and 
return the vessel to a California harbor. You indicate that thereafter the vessel will remain 
in this state for less than 90 days. While in California, it will be prepared for shipment via 
common carrier to Florida. You state that in Florida, the vessel will be reassembled and 
sailed in International waters to the Bahamas, and then to its final destination at a point in 
the Mediterranean Sea. For purposes of this opinion letter, we understand and assume 
that the vessel will be stored or used outside of California for one-half or more of the 
time during the six-month period immediately following its entry into this state after the 
final inspection, approval, and taking of possession and control by ---.  
 
Discussion  
 

A retail sale of tangible personal property in California is subject to sales tax 
measured by the retailer's gross receipts from the sale, unless specifically exempted or 
excluded by statute. (Rev. & Tax. Code §§ 6012, 6051.) Any transfer of title or 
possession, exchange, or barter, conditional or otherwise, in any manner or by any means 
whatsoever, of tangible personal property for a consideration is a sale. (Rev. & Tax. Code 
§ 6006(a).) However, since there will be no transfer in California to --- of title to or 
possession of the vessel, the sale of the vessel to --- will not result in a California sales 
tax liability. (Rev. & Tax. Code § 6006; Reg. 1620(a)(1).)  
 



In general, when sales tax does not apply, use tax measured by the sales price 
applies to the use of tangible personal property purchased from a retailer for storage, use, 
or other consumption in California. (Rev. & Tax. Code §§ 6011, 6201, 6401.) Regulation 
1620(b)(3), in pertinent part, explains when property is regarded as having been 
purchased for use in California:  

 
"[P]roperty purchased outside of California which is brought into 
California is regarded as having been purchased for use in this state if the 
first functional use of the property is in California. When the property is 
first functionally used outside of California, the property will be 
nevertheless be presumed to have been purchased for use in this state if it 
is brought into California within 90 days after its purchase, unless the 
property is used or stored outside of California one-half or more of the 
time during the six-month period immediately following its entry into this 
state. Prior out-of-state use not exceeding 90 days from the date of 
purchase to the date of entry into California is of a temporary nature and is 
not proof of an intent that the property was purchased for use elsewhere. 
Prior out-of-state use in excess of 90 days from the date of purchase to the 
date of entry into California, exclusive of any time of shipment to 
California, or time of storage for shipment to California, will be accepted 
as proof of an intent that the property was not purchased for use in 
California."  

 
Thus, if the vessel is first functionally used in California, use tax applies. 

"Functional use" means the use for which the vessel was designed. The first functional 
use of the vessel after its transfer to --- will occur outside of California when it is used for 
pleasure sailing. However, since the vessel will re-enter California within 90 days of its 
completed delivery and purchase, it will be presumed to have been purchased for use in 
California.  
 

As explained in Regulation 1620, this presumption can be overcome for the vessel 
if the purchaser establishes that for the period of six months after its entry into California, 
it is used principally outside California. Since during the six-month period immediately 
following the vessel's entry into this state after its purchase by --- it will be used or stored 
outside of California one-half or more of the time, the vessel will not be considered 
purchased for use in California, and will not be subject to use tax. (Reg. 1620(b )(3).)  
 

I hope this information is of assistance. Please write again if we may answer any 
further questions.  
 

Sincerely,  
 
Sharon Jarvis 
Senior Tax Counsel 

SJ:cl  
cc:  District Administrator  
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